Contact us to arrange your
FREE initial consultation

Email us Call me back

Written on 2nd November 2021 by

What made you go into law?

Before studying law I studied philosophy at university, which was a subject I really enjoyed but which didn’t lead me directly down an obvious career path after graduation. However, one of the most interesting modules I had studied was Philosophy of Law, which got me thinking that perhaps law would be the right career for me. I knew I would want to practice in an area of law that would allow me to help individuals, rather than one of the more corporate practice areas, but didn’t at that point have a particular practice area in mind. I then had the opportunity to study a module in Healthcare Law during my LLB, just at the time when the Mental Capacity Act 2005 had been passed but had not yet come into force.

I found the evolving law around mental capacity fascinating as a student and am so pleased to now be able to practice in Court of Protection and support clients who have been assessed as lacking capacity. In my previous position I primarily assisted clients with health and welfare matters relating to deprivation of liberty and I am now really enjoying developing my knowledge and experience of the property and affairs side of Court of Protection work.

When did you join Boyes Turner and what is your role?

I joined Boyes Turner in June 2021 and I’m a solicitor in the Court of Protection team. My role is primarily to assist with the management of property and affairs Deputyships, mostly for clients who have suffered brain injuries at birth due to clinical negligence. I assist the clients’ property and affairs Deputies to ensure that the clients’ funds are managed appropriately, in order to meet their current needs while also making sure that the funds will last for as long as possible in order to meet their longer term needs throughout their lives.

I also assist with the management of Personal Injury Trusts. These are trusts set up by clients who have received personal injury settlements and who, while they do have mental capacity to manage their own finances, have made the decision to set up a trust in order to safeguard their funds and to receive assistance from a professional trustee in managing them.

What do you like most about/what are you most looking forward to in your new role?

Without a doubt, the best part of my job is when I have the opportunity to meet my clients and their families in person and learn more about their experiences. One of the main reasons I enjoy practicing in the area of Court of Protection is because I am aware that the views of people who lack capacity to make decisions about their own affairs can be easily overlooked or dismissed by some of the people who make decisions on their behalf. I enjoy getting to know my clients, learning what is important to them and helping them to make their voices heard.

Opportunities for in-person meetings have obviously been rather limited recently due to the challenges arising from the covid-19 pandemic, but I very much look forward to being able to visit and meet with more clients in the not too distant future.

What do you like to do outside of work?

I have two young children, so a lot of my time outside of work is spent on family activities with them and my husband. We enjoy board games, going out walking with our dog, and kayaking and stand up paddle boarding when the weather permits. I’m also a big fan of both musical theatre and stand-up comedy (watching, not performing!), so when I have some free time I enjoy watching those on TV and attending live shows when possible. I also enjoy reading – particularly memoirs, contemporary fiction and science fiction – going to the cinema and listening to podcasts.

What is your favourite food?

It’s so difficult to choose just one! My husband is half-Italian so we enjoy eating a lot of pasta, pizza and other Italian food at home. I particularly enjoy melanzane alla parmigiana, which is a delicious dish made with layers of sliced aubergine, tomato sauce and mozzarella and baked in the oven. My father-in-law’s recipe is the best and after lots of practice I think we’re finally getting pretty good at recreating it for ourselves at home.

Another favourite of mine is Mexican food, particularly burritos, but I find them a little too intimidating to cook for myself, so for the moment I’m sticking to enjoying them at restaurants when I get the chance!